Zimbabwe Photo Here










Map of Zimbabwe [coordinates: 20°00′S, 30°00′E]

total: 390,757 km²
land: 386,847 km²
water: 3,910 km²
{slightly larger than Montana}

Land boundaries:
total: 3,066 km
border countries: Botswana 813 km, Mozambique 1,231 km, South Africa 225 km, Zambia 797 km

  • Summary
  • Background

Republic of Zimbabwe

Southern Africa

Capital City
Harare [17°51′50″S, 31°1′47″E]

Official Languages
English, Shona, Ndebele

South African rand (R), Botswana pula (P), British pound (£) and USD ($)

Time Zone
Central Africa Time (UTC+02)


The UK annexed Southern Rhodesia from the British South Africa Company in 1923. In 1961 a constitution was adopted that favored whites in power.

In 1965 Rhodesia declared its independence, but the UK did not recognize this act and demanded more complete voting rights for the black African majority in the country.

UN sanctions and a guerrilla uprising finally led to free elections in 1979 and to independence as Zimbabwe in 1980.

Robert MUGABE has been in power since independence, and president since 1987.

His chaotic land redistribution plan in 2000 caused an exodus of white farmers, crippled the economy, and created widespread shortages of basic commodities.

Southern Africa, between South Africa and Zambia

Time difference:
GMT+2 (7 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Exchange rate:
Zimbabwean dollars (ZWD) per US dollar — 234.25 (2010)