Tanzania Photo Here








Map of Tanzania [coordinates: 6°00′S, 35°00′E]

total: 947,300 km²
land: 885,800 km²
water: 61,500 km²
includes islands of Mafia, Pemba, & Zanzibar
{slightly larger than twice size of California}

Land boundaries:
total: 3,861 km
border countries: Burundi 451 km, Democratic Republic of the Congo 459 km, Kenya 769 km, Malawi 475 km, Mozambique 756 km, Rwanda 217 km, Uganda 396 km, Zambia 338 km

  • Summary
  • Background

United Republic of Tanzania

Eastern Africa

Capital City
Dodoma [6°10′23″S 35°44′31″E]

Official Languages
Swahili, English

Tanzanian Shilling (TZS)

Time Zone
Eastern Africa Time (UTC+03)


Shortly after achieving independence from Britain in the early 1960s, Tanganyika and Zanzibar merged to form the nation of Tanzania in 1964.

One-party rule ended in 1995 with the first democratic elections held in the country since the 1970s.

Zanzibar's semi-autonomous status and popular opposition have led to two contentious elections since 1995, which the ruling party won despite international observers' claims of voting irregularities.

The formation of a government of national unity between Tanzania's two leading parties succeeded in minimizing electoral tension in 2010.

Eastern Africa, bordering the Indian Ocean, between Kenya and Mozambique

Time difference:
GMT+3 (8 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Exchange rate:
Tanzanian shillings (TZS) per US dollar — 1,423.3 (2010)