Kenya Photo Here








Map of Kenya [coordinates: 1°00′N, 38°00′E]

total: 580,367 km²
land: 569,140 km²
water: 11,227 km²
{slightly more than twice the size of Nevada}

Land boundaries:
total: 3,477 km
border countries: Ethiopia 861 km, Somalia 682 km, South Sudan 232 km, Tanzania 769 km, Uganda 933 km

  • Summary
  • Background

Republic of Kenya

Eastern Africa

Capital City
Nairobi [1°17′S, 36°49′E ]

Official Languages
Swahili, English

Kenyan Shilling (KES)

Time Zone
Eastern Africa Time (UTC+03)


Founding president and liberation struggle icon Jomo KENYATTA led Kenya from independence in 1963 until his death in 1978, when Daniel MOI became president.

The country was a de facto one-party state from 1969 until 1982 when the ruling Kenya African National Union (KANU) made itself the sole legal party in Kenya.

President MOI acceded to internal and external pressure for political liberalization in late 1991. MOI stepped down in late 2002.

Mwai KIBAKI was elected to the presidency in 2002, after a campaign centered on an anti-corruption platform.

A period of political turmoil and violence began in 2005; UN-sponsored talks in February 2008 produced an accord which finally restored peace, and in August 2010 Kenya adopted a new constitution.

Eastern Africa, bordering the Indian Ocean, between Somalia and Tanzania

Time difference:
GMT+3 (8 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Exchange rate:
Kenyan shillings (KES) per US dollar — 79.217 (2010)